Back to help topics

Working with my advisor

Document storage and sharing

Use Documents to view and share files securely with your advisor and other members of your account groups.

Documents and other files you upload are for reference only and are not official records. You should retain the original versions of your files as official files of record.

Frequently asked questions

Who can view the files I upload?

The following people can view your files if you choose to share your files with them:

  • Your advisor(s)
  • Other members of your household group

Fiduciaries to whom you have granted access to your accounts are unable to view/share files.

In order to adequately supervise and review advisor recommendations, Ameriprise Financial reserves the right to access and view any information that is uploaded, stored and shared with your advisor.  Accordingly, you understand and agree that when you use these features to share information with your advisor, you are also sharing that information with Ameriprise Financial and its employees in order for them to properly supervise advisor-client interactions.

Can I rename a file after I have uploaded it?

Yes, you can rename a file by clicking the Edit File icon in the file actions menu. You can update the file name and add a description.

How do I delete a file I've uploaded?

You can remove a file from your view by clicking the Delete File icon in the file actions menu.

Please be advised that Ameriprise Financial will save and archive any documentation that has been shared with your advisor, other employee or Ameriprise Financial representative, even if you remove the documentation from your view.

If I accidentally delete a file, can I get it back?

No, files you remove are not retrievable, so you should always retain the original versions of your files as official files of record. Documents and other files you upload are for reference only.

Are there any types of files I can't remove?

You cannot remove files provided to you through the Ameriprise corporate office, such as account statements, tax statements, financial confirmations, shareholder documents, documents requiring your electronic signature, and administrative documents. These documents will remain available online according to the existing timelines for each.

You can remove shared files and folders from your view, but they will remain available to their owners and anyone else they have been shared with.

How do I rename a folder I created?

In the uploaded files section, click the folder name. Click the folder options menu next to the folder name, then click on the edit folder name link.

How do I delete a folder I've created?

In the uploaded files section, click the folder name. Click the folder options menu next to the folder name, then click on the delete link. Only empty folders can be deleted.

Are there any types of folders I can't remove?

You cannot remove the default folders in your view — account statements, tax statements, financial confirmations, shareholder documents, electronic signature, administrative documents and uploaded files.

You can remove shared files and folders from your view, but they will remain available to their owners and anyone else they have been shared with.

How do I share files?

There are two options for sharing files with your advisor(s) and/or members of your household group:

  • You can choose to share a file at the time you upload it by using the links in the "Share with" column.
  • Or, once files have been uploaded, you can share them by using the links in "Share status" column.
Are there any kinds of files that I cannot share?

Yes; see below.

  • Files provided to you through the Ameriprise corporate office cannot be directly shared unless you first save them to your desktop and upload them as new files. These files include account statements, tax statements, financial confirmations, shareholder documents, documents requiring your electronic signature, and administrative documents.
  • Files attached to accounts on which you are a fiduciary, but not an owner, cannot be uploaded and shared.
  • In addition, do not upload encrypted files or files containing material that is prohibited under the Client Features User Agreement. Such files will be deleted and your access to file sharing features may be terminated.
Once I've shared a file with someone, can I remove it from their view?

No, you cannot directly unshare a file. You must delete the file to remove someone else's access to it. You can re-upload if you want, then you can re-share it if you want any others to have access to it.

Can the people I share my files with make changes to or remove them?

The people you share your files with can save copies of your files and make changes to the copies they've saved. They can also remove your files from their view. However, any changes to your files made by others will not affect your view of your files in your Documents.

If I share a file with my advisor or someone else, will they be notified?

Yes. Your advisor and other members of your account groups will receive email notifications letting them know that a file has been shared with them. They will also see a document alert in the navigation when they log in to the secure site. The alert will remain visible for 60 days or until they visit their Documents page.

Fiduciaries to whom you have granted access to your accounts are unable to view/share files.

If my advisor or someone else shares a file with me, will I be notified?

You will receive an email notification when your advisor or other member of your account group shares a file with you. You will also see a document alert in the navigation when you log in to secure site. The alert will remain visible for 60 days or until you visit your Documents page.

Files that are shared with you will show a Shared icon next to the name indicating you are not the owner of the file. Shared folders will show a Shared icon next to the name and have a Shared Folder icon indicating you are not the owner of the folder.

Back to help topics

Customer Service

Can't find what you are looking for? Contact customer service for further assistance.

800.862.7919

7 a.m. to 9 p.m. Central time (CT) Monday – Friday
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central time (CT) Weekends