Back to help topics

Working with my advisor

Notes

Frequently asked questions

What are Notes and what is the benefit of using them?

The Notes section provides an easy-to-use secure location for you to capture ideas, list topics of conversation or create simple reminders regarding your financial life. Your Notes might include:

  • Items you captured while talking with your advisor
  • A list of questions for a future conversation with your advisor
  • A reading list of books, articles, or other financial resource materials that interest you
How can I access Notes?

Notes can be found by going to Transfers & Tools and clicking Notes. Only account owners can access Notes.

How do I add or create a Note?
  1. Click the Add Note icon to create a new Note
  2. Make your updates
  3. Your changes will be saved automatically
How do I update or edit a Note?
  1. In the Notes menu, locate and click the Note you'd like to edit
  2. Make your updates
  3. Your changes will be saved automatically
How do I delete a Note?
  1. Open your Note and click the Delete Note icon
  2. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete your Note
  3. Click the Delete button
  4. A message will confirm your Note has been deleted
How do I delete multiple Notes?
  1. In the Notes menu, click the Edit link
  2. Select the Notes you would like to delete
  3. Click the Delete Note icon
  4. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete your Notes
  5. Click the Delete button
  6. A message will confirm your Notes have been deleted
How do I restore a Note?
  1. From the Notes menu, navigate to the Deleted Notes folder
  2. Open your Note and click the Restore Note icon
  3. You will be asked to confirm that you want to restore your Note
  4. Click the Restore button
  5. Your Note will be moved back to the Notes menu
How do I restore multiple Notes?
  1. From the Notes menu, navigate to the deleted Notes folder
  2. Click the Edit button
  3. Select the Notes you would like to restore
  4. Click the Restore Note icon
  5. You will be asked to confirm that you want to restore your Notes
  6. Click the Restore button
  7. A message will confirm your Notes have been restored
What if I accidentally delete a Note?

You can easily restore a deleted Note. However, if you don't restore it, your deleted Note will be permanently deleted after 60 days.

Can I restore my Note if it was permanently deleted after 60 days?

Once a Note has been permanently deleted, it can't be restored.

Will my Notes disappear if I don't update them over time?

Your Notes will remain available to view or edit.

Can I share Notes with other people?

Any Notes you create are intended for your personal use only and cannot be shared with your advisor, other members of your account group, or fiduciaries to whom you have granted access to your accounts.

Back to help topics

Customer Service

Can't find what you are looking for? Contact Customer Service for further assistance.

800.862.7919

7 a.m. to 9 p.m. Central time (CT) Monday – Friday
7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Central time (CT) Weekends